Enhanced Nathan Kline Institute - Rockland Sample



The enhanced Nathan Kline Institute-Rockland Sample (NKI-RS) is an ongoing, institutionally centered endeavor aimed at creating a large-scale (N > 1000) community sample of participants across the lifespan. Measures include a wide array of physiological and psychological assessments, genetic information, and advanced neuroimaging. Anonymized data will be publicly shared openly and prospectively (i.e., on a quarterly basis).

The National Institute of Mental Health strategic plan for advancing psychiatric neuroscience calls for increased discovery science initiatives in an effort to deliniate developmental trajectories for risk and resilience across the lifespan. Such initiatives require large, openly accessible datasets that contain sufficient detail to enable the generation and testing of multiple hypotheses. The NKI-RS is intended to help meet this need.

The NKI-RS Team

Michael Milham, MD, PhD, (co-founder of NKI-Rockland Sample Initiative, Principal Investigator for Cross-sectional Lifespan Connectomics and Longitudinal Developmental Connectomics studies; Director of the Center for Biomedical Imaging and Neuromodulation [C-BIN]), Cameron Craddock, PhD, (Principal Investigator for the Real-time Neurofeedback study; past Director of the Computational Neuroimaging Laboratory, C-BIN), Russ Tobe, MD, (Director of NKI Outpatient Research Program), Anna MacKay-Brandt, PhD, (Clinical Neuropsychologist), Stan Colcombe, PhD, (Director of Design, Acquisition and Stimulation Laboratiory, C-BIN; Principal Investigator for the Adult Longitudinal Study), Alexandre R. Franco, PhD, (Director of the Computational Neuroimaging Laboratory, C-BIN) , Bennett Leventhal, MD, (co-founder of NKI-Rockland Sample Initiative, UCSF), F. Xavier Castellanos, MD, (co-founder of NKI-Rockland Sample Initiative, Director of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, NKI)
Clinical Evaluation and Phenotyping
Kathleen Cuneo, PhD, Melissa Breland, MA, Michelle Kaplan, LMSW, Melissa Kramer, LMSW, Alexis Lieval, LMSW, Laura Panek, RN, Alexis Akeyson, Alyssa Gianonne, Jamie Glass, George Lopez, Allison Rolfe, Rachel Rothschild, Melissa Sital, Ayesha Anwar (alumnus), Shaquanna Brown (alumnus), Steven Carter (alumnus), Tiffany Chang (alumnus), Caitlin Hinz (alumnus), Erica Ho (alumnus), Stephanie Kamiel (alumnus), Enitan Marcelle (alumnus), Amalia McDonald (alumnus), Kate Nooner, PhD (alumnus), Anna Rachlin (alumnus), Hayley Reed (alumnus), Christine Santiago (alumnus), Ricky Sinnig (alumnus), Elise Taverna (alumnus), Betty Varghese (alumnus), Lauren Walden (alumnus), Abigail Waters (alumnus), Steve Zavitz (alumnus)
Cathy Hu, Raj Sangoi, Stan Colcombe, Cameron Craddock, Alexandre Franco
Programming, Technical and Analytic Support
Ryan Lim, David O’Connor (alumnus), Brian Cheung (alumnus), Daniel Clark (alumnus), Ranjit Khanuja (alumnus), David Lewis (alumnus), Qingyang Li (alumnus), Daniel Lurie (alumnus), John Pellman (alumnus), Sharad Sikka (alumnus), Ayesha Siddiqua
Neuroinformatics (Mind Research Network)
Vince Calhoun, Will Courtney, Margaret King, Susan Lane, Adam Scott, Runtang Wang, and Dylan Wood
Stacey Ascher, Nancy Duan (alumnus), Bruce Grover (alumnus), Dawn Thomsen (alumnus)
Miscellaneous Support and Guidance
Bharat Biswal, Chrissie Cox, Adriana Di Martino, David Guilfoyle, Matt Hoptman, Brett Lullo, Clare Kelly, Daniel Margulies, Nunzio Pomara, John Sidtis, Xi-Nian Zuo

Special thanks to Cameron Craddock for his assistance in designing the test-retest dataset and helping to troubleshoot its various phases, as well as providing the task paradigms; to Kamil Urgurbil, Eddie Auerbach, Junquian Gordon Xu and Steen Moeller from the HCP for assistance with the implementation of the multiband sequences and reconstruction algorithms; to Satrajit Ghosh for his guidance in the development of our DICOM anonymization protocol; and as always - to Maarten Mennes for his efforts overseeing the INDI team.


Principal support for the enhanced NKI-RS project is provided by the NIMH BRAINS R01MH094639-01 (PI Milham). Funding for key personnel also provided in part by the New York State Office of Mental Health and Research Foundation for Mental Hygiene. Funding for the decompression and augmentation of administrative and phenotypic protocols provided by a grant from the Child Mind Institute (1FDN2012-1). Additional personnel support provided by the Center for the Developing Brain at the Child Mind Institute, as well as NIMH R01MH081218, R01MH083246, and R21MH084126. Project support also provided by the NKI Center for Advanced Brain Imaging (CABI), the Brain Research Foundation, and the Stavros Niarchos Foundation.

Funding: Real-Time Neurofeedback

Principal support for the Real-Time Neurofeedback project is provided by the NIMH BRAINS R01-MH101555 (PI Craddock).


We would like to thank Lawrence Maayan for his key role in the design and execution of the pilot NKI-RS, David Guilfoyle for his assistance with human imaging, and Raj Sangoi and Caixia Hu for the many hours contributed to scanning and providing invaluable feedback. Also, special thanks to Randy Buckner for providing us the specifications for the Brain Genomics Superstruct’s Common Acquisition Protocol, which formed the basis of the imaging protocol in the pilot phase; to Kamil Urgurbil, Eddie Auerbach, Junquian Gordon Xu, and Steen Moeller from the HCP for assistance with the implementation of the multiband sequences and reconstruction algorithms; to Satrajit Ghosh for his guidance in the development of our DICOM anonymization protocol; and to the Brain Connectivity and Cognition Laboratory for providing us with the results of their quality control check.

Table Of Contents

An open neuroscience project brought to you by: